Post Format

(some of) the joys of our home life

5 comments

Last night over supper, I posed a theoretical question to D: If the owner of this house offered to sell it to us, and the owner of the newer, beautiful, just-our-style house right up the road offered his house for sale, for the exact same amount, which would you choose? We had a hard time deciding, below are some of the reasons why.

This living space offers:

  • Leaky roofs (the sound of rain drops plunking in metal pots on a warm night is just too romantic)
  • Wood stove coziness
  • Lessons on community living; we have a love/hate relationship with the mice
  • Garden space
  • More garden space
  • My Dadaw’s shop, full of adventures and treasures for a fellow like D
  • Protective dogs from up the road (My parents have two big dogs to stay with their goats, but they seem to know part of the brood is at another location. They come down at least once a day to check on us.)
  • Fresh eggs
  • The morning birds outside our window
  • Bread baking
  • Nights to sit and read for hours
  • An old old floor that makes all the furniture look topsy-turvy: the level, as a tool, has become obsolete
  • The surprising spirit of my grandparents, meeting me as I round a corner at a certain time of day, and showing itself in the little bulbs popping up in the yard right now

Polly the Protector

wood stove coziness

a certain time of day

I know that some of the things on this list could certainly transfer to whatever living space we end up in, but so far, living in this house been a stretching out kind of joy.

Posted by

Since moving back to the mountains of North Carolina with my husband after completing graduate school in 2011, I've been reconnecting with the people and places of my childhood, slowly engaging in a new existence here, and settling back into the mountains of my heart.

5 Comments Join the Conversation

  1. Lovely. Love this post. Love the references to Mamaw and Dadaw.

    Also, wanna write a cover letter for me for a job application? I might get it if you write it for me.

    Reply

    • Thanks Sis! And do not be so silly; you yourself are an excellent writer, and certainly don’t need my help getting any job!

      Reply

  2. Hi there Dora. I am a friend of Miles here in Boone. He posted this on Jordan Lowder’s facebook wall. I read it, and it made me want to start a blog. I enjoy your blog, it gave me inspiration. Thanks.
    Emily

    Reply

    • Hi Emily! Thanks for the compliment, glad you like the blog! You should start one for yourself 🙂

      Reply

  3. If those walls talk I’m sure you and D will hear every word!!! And look I am right in the picture enjoying the coziness of the stove!!! Thanks for having us over.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.